Why I’m glad life doesn’t always go “my way”

Hopefully I’m not the only person who wakes up in the morning and says, “I have no idea what I’m doing.” And if I am, well, I should probably figure out what’s wrong with me.

That thought comes with agony, confusion, and fear—a few things, admittedly, I’ve never had to experience in my faith. But, they say there always comes a point (or points) in your life where you have to introduce the God you know into new things so He can show you how He overcomes those in you, by His grace.

I mean, if we don’t introduce God to the new chapters of our lives, we’ll never learn more about Him. We have to continuously ask Him how to do it because we haven’t reached Heaven yet.

And as I write this, in the midst of my uncertainties, I simply say, “Thy will be done.”

*trying to, imperfectly, follow Jesus’ example from His agony in the garden*

Likewise, every time I make the sign of the cross, the movements from forehead, chest, shoulder to shoulder equally works out to permit me to say, “Thy will be done.”

Sometimes I throw on NEEDTOBREATHE’s song “Hard Love” and let it pump me up, and soak in for the fearful moments.

Because at the end of the day, whatever I do, whatever happens, and whatever He allows—I asked for it—Thy will be done.

What latest regret, transgression, experience, or prompting of the Holy Spirit is continuously keeping you in emotional states (over/under)-considering God’s plan for your life?

Friedrich Nietzsche once said, “You have your way. I have my way. As for the right way, the correct way, and the only way, it does not exist.”

Ha ha, hahaha, hahahahaha

Comical to a person who believes what Paul said in Ephesians, that MY God is real and HAS bestowed on me every spiritual blessing in the Heavens, and chose ME, in Him, before the foundation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight. And by HIS love destined for me adoption to Himself through His son, Jesus Christ, in accord with the favor of HIS will…

The One who accomplishes all things according to the intention of his will, so that we might exist for the praise of his glory,” (Ephesians 1:11) is not going to let us down.

In him you who have heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and have believed in him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit which is the first installment of our inheritance toward redemption as God’s possession, to the praise of his glory. (Ephesians 1:13-14)

The spirit of our living God, who does things in this life HIS way changes us and our lives, hearts, minds, souls, so profoundly. So deeply, that you should stop reading this and experience it for yourself.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, on your own intelligence do not rely; In all your ways be mindful of him, and he will make straight your paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Chances are, if you invite the Holy Spirit in, and tell God you want to know Him more, love Him firmer, and serve Him in a greater way, He’ll do it! (So get ready, it’ll feel like He just threw you right into the deep end of a giant ocean). But, chances are, it’s the right way.

He changes our lives to help us seek what’s true and real–the things He knows we want, deep down. He can show us His love if we are vulnerable with Him, trusting Him.

Personally, I’ve never experienced life so profoundly, out of pure happiness and love, than in the moments I let His way triumph—for anything that I’ve tried to accomplish, succeed in, or have “my way” in this life never compared or comes close to the feeling of complete and utter love I have with Him.

So come, Lord, have your way.

“Let us rid ourselves of every burden [and sin] that clings to us and persevere in running the race that lies before us, keeping our eyes fixed on Jesus–the leader and perfecter of faith.” (Hebrews 2:1-2)

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom should I fear?
The LORD is my life’s refuge; of whom should I be afraid?  (Psalms 27)

Leave a Reply

